How Many Union Territories of India in 2022

Share This:-

How Many Union Territories of India: India there are a total of 8 Union Territories and 28 states as of 2022. India, a union of states, is a sovereign, secular, democratic republic with a parliamentary system of government.The President is the constitutional head of the executive of the Union. In states, the governor, as the representative of the president, is the executive head.

What is Union Territory?

A union territory is a type of administrative division in India which is ruled directly by the Union government (Central Government). Union Territories are administered by an Administrator appointed by the President. Union Territories in India have special rights and status due to the process of formation and development. Union Territories except Delhi and Puducherry have no representation in the Rajya Sabha.

READ ALSO:- List of All Prime Minister of India

How Many Union Territories of India?

India there are a total of 8 Union Territories and 28 states as of 2022. The union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu were merged into a single union territory on 26th January 2020.  Ladakh was separated from Jammu and Kashmir and created as a separate Union Territory. 

How Many Union Territories of India: Currently, India has eight (8) Union Territories including, 1.) Delhi, 2.)Andaman and Nicobar, 3).Chandigarh, 4).Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, 5).Jammu and Kashmir, 6).Ladakh, 7).Lakshadweep, and 8).Puducherry.

Union Territories of India

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Particulars Description
Area 8,249 sq. km
Population 4 lakh (approx)
Capital Port Blair
Languages Hindi, Nicobarese, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu

2. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

Particulars Description
Area 491 sq km
Population 4 Lakhs (Approx)
Capital Silvassa
Languages Gujarati, Hindi

3. Puducherry

Particulars Description
Area 479 sq km
Population 12,44,464 (Approx)
Capital Puducherry
Principal Languages Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, English and French

4. Lakshadweep

Particulars Description
Area 32 sq. km
Population 64,429 ( Approx )
Capital Kavaratti
Principal Languages Malayalam, Jeseri (Dweep Bhasha) and Mahal

5. Delhi NCT

Particulars Description
Area 1,483 sq. km
Population 1,67,53,235 (Approx)
Capital Delhi
Principal Languages Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu & English

6. Chandigarh

Particulars Description
Area 114 sq km
Population 10,54,686 (Approx)
Capital Chandigarh
Principal Languages Hindi, Punjabi, English

7. Ladakh

Particulars Description
Area 59,146 km²
Population 292000 (Approx)
Capital Leh, Kargil
Principal Languages Hindi, English, Ladakhi, Purgi, Balti

8. Jammu and Kashmir

Particulars Description
Area 222,236
Population 13,635,010 (Approx)
Capital Jammu ( winter ), Srinagar ( summer )
Languages Urdu, Dogri, Kashmiri, Pahari, Ladakhi, Balti, Gojri and Dari
Share This:-

MPPSC State Engg Services Answer Key 2022 – Download Madhya Pradesh SES Prelims Final Answer Key

What is the Difference Between State and Union Territories?

Image Details Price

CUET: Entrance Exam | NTA CUET (UG)-2022 GET THIS>>
56 SSC Topic-wise Solved Papers (2010 - 2021) GET THIS>>
TCS Exam Guide GET THIS>>
Master Guide SSC CGL Combined Graduate Level Pre Exam Tier 1 2022 GET THIS>>
Banking Mains 2022 Combo Set GET THIS>>
Pathfinder NDA/NA National Defence Academy & Naval Academy Entrance Examination GET THIS>>
Organization (Admit) Exam Date Details
CISF  26/08/2022 CHECK>>
ONGC 20/08/2022 CHECK>>
OPSC  21/08/2022 CHECK>>
CISF Constable 26/08/2022 CHECK>>
OPSC ASO 21/08/2022 CHECK>>
MPSC Rajyaseva 21/08/2022 CHECK>>
SLRC Assam 28/08/2022 CHECK>>
Lucknow University 29/08/2022 CHECK>>
Organization Last date Details
MPSC 22/08/2022 CHECK>>
NHM UP 27/08/2022 CHECK>>
Municipal Corporation Hoshiarpur 25/08/2022 CHECK>>
SSA Assam 15/09/2022 CHECK>>
OSCDC  26/08/2022 CHECK>>
DSSSB 27/08/2022 CHECK>>
Punjab Police 30/08/2022 CHECK>>
MPPSC 16/09/2022 CHECK>>
MRB 30/08/2022 CHECK>>
UPPSC 05/09/2022 CHECK>>

Leave a Comment