List of All Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2022

Sharing is Caring :-)

List of All Prime Minister of India: In India, the head of the state is the President, whose powers are largely nominal and ceremonial. Mainly the head of the Government is the Prime Minister of India. He is appointed by the President after a political party wins a general election and nominates a candidate for the position. Thereafter the leader of the political party is appointed as the Prime Minister of India.

The current Prime Minister of India is Narendra Modi, who became the 14th Prime Minister of India on 26 May 2014. Jawaharlal Nehru was the first and longest serving Prime Minister of India and Indira Gandhi was the first and only female Prime Minister of India. Today in this article, we will share with you a list of all Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2022.

READ ALSO:- Life Insurance Companies Of India

List of All Prime Minister of India

Here is the list of all Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2022 –

Name Term of Office Remark

Jawahar Lal Nehru

15th August 1947 to 27th May 1964 (16th years, 286 days)

The first prime minister of India and the longest-serving PM of India.

Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting)

27th May 1964 to 9th June 1964 (13th days)

First acting PM of India

Lal Bahadur Shastri

9th June 1964 to 11th January 1966 (1 year, 216 days)

He has given the slogan of ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ during the Indo-Pak war of 1965

Gulzari Lal Nanda  (Acting)

11th January 1966 to 24th January 1966

(13 days)

He was an Indian politician and economist who specialized in labour issues.

Indira Gandhi

24th January 1966 to 24th March 1977 (11 years, 59 days)

First female Prime Minister of India

Morarji Desai

24th March 1977 to  28th July 1979 (2 year, 126 days)

Oldest to become Prime Minister (81 years old) and first to resign from office

Charan Singh

28th July 1979 to 14th January 1980(170 days)

Only PM who did not face the Parliament

Indira Gandhi

14th January 1980 to 31st October 1984 (4 years, 291 days)

The first lady who served as Prime Minister for the second term

Rajiv Gandhi

31st October 1984 to 2nd December 1989 (5 years, 32 days)

Youngest to become Prime Minister  (40 years old)

V. P. Singh

2nd December 1989 to 10t November 1990 (343 days)

First PM to step down after a vote of no confidence

Chandra Shekhar

10th November 1990 to 21st June 1991 (223 days)

He belongs to Samajwadi Janata Party

P. V. Narasimha Rao

21st June 1991 to 16th May 1996 (4 years, 330 days)

First PM from south India

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

16th May 1996 to 1st June 1996 (16 days)

PM for shortest tenure

H. D. Deve Gowda

1st June 1996 to 21st April 1997 (324 days)

He belongs to  Janata Dal

Inder Kumar Gujral

21st April 1997 to 19th March 1998 (332 days)

He was an Indian diplomat, politician and freedom activist who served as the 12th prime minister of India

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

19th March 1998 to 22nd May 2004 (6 years, 64 days)

 The first non-congress PM who completed a full term as PM

Manmohan Singh

22nd May 2004 to 26th May 2014 (10 years, 4 days)

 First Sikh Prime Minister

Narendra Modi

26th May 2014 – Present

14th Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures


Sharing is Caring :-)

JEECUP Result 2022 – Check UP Joint Entrance Examination (Polytechnic) – 2022 (JEECUP) Result

Chhattisgarh Health Recruitment 2022 – Apply For 120+MLT & Other Vacancies

Organization Last date Details
Tamilnadu Revenue Department 7/11/2022 CHECK>>
Kerala Public service Commission 2/11/2022 CHECK>>
MPSC 23/10/2022 CHECK>>
Eastern Railway 29/10/2022 CHECK>>
HSSC 26/10/2022 CHECK>>
UP Police 31/10/2022 CHECK>>
OHPC 11/11/2022 CHECK>>
MPPGCL 10/10/2022 CHECK>>
Southern Railway 31/10/2022 CHECK>>
NCDC 31/10/2022 CHECK>>
Organization (Admit) Exam Date Details
UPNHM ANM  27/12/2022 CHECK>>
DRDO CEPTAM  6to11/01/2023 CHECK>>
TRB Tripura 28/12/2022 & 30/12/2022 CHECK>>
DRRMLIMS  Dec 2022/ Jan 2023 CHECK>>
BSF  3rd Week of December CHECK>>
WBCSC 8/01/2023 CHECK>>


Leave a Comment